Friday, March 09, 2007

Steering Committee for Traditional Medicine Practice Council inaugurated

Steering Committee for Traditional Medicine Practice Council inaugurated

A 15-member steering committee for the Traditional Medicine Practice Council Secretariat charged with the responsibility to undertake relevant activities to improve standards of practice and products of traditional medicine has been inaugurated in Accra.

Lepowura M. N. D. Jawula, Chief Director of the Ministry of Health, who inaugurated the committee called on well meaning Ghanaians to contribute to the development and promotion of traditional medicine in the country.This was in line with the World Health Organization’s (WHO) report which showed that out of every 10 citizens, eight sought primary health care from traditional medicine practitioners, a statement issued in Accra by the Ministry said on Friday.

Lepowura Jawula also commended the introduction of the training programme in Herbal Medicine at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) saying it was in line with the Government’s commitment to integrate acceptable traditional medicine practices into the mainstream health delivery system in the country.He said there was the need to expedite action on the plans to absorb graduates of KNUST Traditional Medicine programme into the public service.

Mr F. K. Hlortsi-Akakpo, Registrar of the Secretariat and Secretary to the Committee, reiterated the need for the Steering Committee to support the decision-making process on relevant issues of the Secretariat. He said this was because unlike the usual case where the CEO or the Registrar single-handedly set up the necessary structures; in this case the huge burden would be shared with the Steering Committee through consensus building and teamwork.

Members of the Committee are Madam Salimata Abdul-Salam, Director of Administration MOH; Dr Ken Sagoe, Director, Human Resource Management of the Ghana Health Service; Dr Antwi-Boasiako, Director, HRHD, MOH; Dr Eddie Addai, Director, PPME, MOH; Prof. Laud Okine, Director, CSRPM, Mampong; Dr T. C. Fleischer, Dept. of Herbal Medicine, KNUST, Kumasi.
Others are Agya Kwaku Appiah, President, GHAFTRAM; Togbega Dabra VI, President, Prometra Ghana; Mr Japhet Seglah of GHAFTRAM; Dela Kemevor of TMPC; Peter Arhin, Director, TAMD, MOH; Mr Emmanuel Agyarko, CEO, Food and Drugs Board; Mr Kofi Adusei, Head, M PPME, MOH.